Unemployment a whole new world for me

HICKEY'S WORLD

image

Visiting the  Social Welfare office for the first time proved easy enough. I was expecting the process to be a lot more intimidating, with long queues similar to the days when you stood in a long line to renew your motor tax or in the early days of the recession when unemployment skyrocketed. Not so.

You need your Public Services Card before you can engage with staff, and while I had one, I had  neglected to have it activated. Thanks to my buddy Brendan mentioning this a few days ago, I was able to make the call while standing in a laneway around the corner from the Social Welfare office.

There were very few in front of me, which threw me a little. In fact, when I selected my ticket and sat down I realised I was number 7 – and the electronic board told me that no 3 was…

View original post 669 more words

Leave a Reply

